HFTP Currently Taking Nominations for Prestigious Paragon Award, Honoring Volunteers in the Association and Industry

  • Hospitality Financial and Technology Professionals (HFTP)
  • 07.25.07
Hospitality Financial and Technology Professionals (HFTP®) is now accepting nominations for the prestigious Paragon Award, which recognizes individuals who have made a significant and lasting contribution to both HFTP and the hospitality industry.

Since 1999, 10 people have been recognized with a Paragon Award, and continuing with the tradition, HFTP will honor this year’s winner(s) at the 2007 Annual Convention & Tradeshow in Jacksonville, Fla.

“HFTP continues to grow worldwide thanks to its dedicated volunteers,” said Agnes DeFranco, Ed.D., CHAE, professor at the University of Houston’s Conrad N. Hilton College of Hotel and Restaurant Management, HFTP international president and chair of the Paragon Award council. “It is important to recognize those who have given their time and talent towards the development of the association, as well as creating a legacy in the hospitality industry.”

Past winners include Alice Banks, CHAE (1999); Henry "Buddy" Weeks, CHAE (1999); Frank Santos, CHAE, CHA (2000); Katherine Cavanagh, CHAE (2001); Raymond Schmidgall, Ph.D., CPA, CHAE (2002); Frank Wolfe, CAE (2002); Len Bartello, CPA, CHAE, CHTP (2003); John J. Cahill, CHA, CHTP (2004); Wendy Zurstadt, CPA, CHAE, CHTP (2005); and Richard Braa, CHAE (2006).

To be eligible for selection, an individual must first be nominated by someone who has worked with or is familiar with the nominated individual’s work. The nomination must then be seconded and accompanied by three supporting letters of recommendation. No more than two of the nominators/recommendation writers can be from the same employer, association (other than HFTP) or educational institution. Paragon Award nominees can be HFTP members, representatives of industry-related associations, societies, trade publications; or leaders from hospitality businesses, educational institutions and other related disciplines.

A panel of industry experts will select the award winner(s) who will be recognized at the 2007 HFTP Annual Convention & Tradeshow being held October 17-20 at the Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront in Jacksonville, Fla. The Paragon Award nomination form is available on the HFTP Web site. Nominations and letters of recommendation are due to the HFTP office by August 10, 2007.

About HFTP
HFTP, Austin, Texas, USA and Maastricht, The Netherlands, founded in 1952, is a global professional association for financial and technology personnel working in hotels, clubs and other hospitality-related businesses. HFTP provides educational opportunities, research and publications to more than 4,600 members globally including the hospitality technology conference HITEC--founded in 1972. HFTP also awards the only hospitality-specific certifications for accounting and technology ---the Certified Hospitality Accountant Executive (CHAE) and the Certified Hospitality Technology Professional (CHTP) designations. HFTP was founded in the USA as the National Association of Hotel Accountants.

Related Articles
want to read more articles like this?

want to read more articles like this?

Sign up to receive our twice-a-month Watercooler and Siegel Sez Newsletters and never miss another article or news story.