Robert Patasnick to Receive the Paragon Award at the 2007 HFTP Annual Convention & Tradeshow

  • Hospitality Financial and Technology Professionals (HFTP)
  • 09.17.07
For his contributions to the hospitality industry and Hospitality Financial and Technology Professionals (HFTP®), Robert (Bob) Patasnick, CPA, will be honored with the 2007 Paragon Award at HFTP’s 2007 Annual Convention & Tradeshow.

He will be presented with the award at the opening session on Thursday, October 18 at 8:30 a.m.

“Bob is the consummate professional who is constantly giving back to his profession,” said Jack Sullivan, CCM, vice president and general manager for the Old Collier Golf Club. “Through his work in the private club industry, he has become one of the most sought after consultants in the industry.”

For the past 22 years, Patasnick has worked for McGladrey & Pullen LLC, where he is currently a partner and serves as the firm’s national director of club services. He has extensive experience in the private club and common interest realty association industries, as well as knowledge of tax issues and trends in the club industry. Patasnick has worked extensively with the Florida Department of Revenue to achieve favorable sales tax treatment for numerous fees paid by club members. He also served on the IRS Club Industry Task Force, which resulted in the tax deducibility of depreciation on golf course tees and greens that previously were nondeductible expenses.
Patasnick’s dedication to HFTP can be seen on the local and national level. He speaks about finance issues at numerous HFTP conferences, including HITEC and the HFTP Annual Convention & Tradeshow. He also actively speaks at Florida chapter events and regional events for HFTP. He served as president of the South Florida chapter and was a mentor to members starting the Florida Gulf Coast chapter.

“Bob has constantly challenged me to pursue my own advances within HFTP at the international level, for that I am eternally grateful,” said Jerilyn Schnitzel, CHAE, CHTP, CAM, owner of Schnitzel Hospitality Consulting. “Serving on the HFTP international board has helped me to grow, and I attribute part of my passion for HFTP to what I learned from him.”

In 1999, HFTP established the annual Paragon Award to recognize individuals who have made a significant and lasting contribution to both HFTP and the hospitality industry. Paragon Award nominees can be HFTP members; representatives of industry-related associations, societies or trade publications; or leaders from hospitality businesses, educational institutions and other related disciplines. The recipient is selected by a panel of hospitality industry experts.

Previous Paragon Award winners include Alice Banks, CHAE (1999), Henry "Buddy" Weeks, CHAE (1999), Frank Santos, CHAE, CHA (2000), Katherine Cavanagh, CHAE (2001), Raymond Schmidgall, PH.D., CPA, CHAE (2002), Frank Wolfe, CAE (2002), Len Bartello, CPA, CHAE, CHTP (2003), John J. Cahill, CHA, CHTP (2004), Wendy Zurstadt, CPA, CHAE, CHTP (2005) and Richard Braa, CHAE (2006).

Related Articles
want to read more articles like this?

want to read more articles like this?

Sign up to receive our twice-a-month Watercooler and Siegel Sez Newsletters and never miss another article or news story.