George Glazer, Senior Vice President American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute, Receives HFTP's 2008 Paragon Award

  • Hospitality Financial and Technology Professionals (HFTP)
  • 09.26.08
For his hard work and dedication to the hospitality industry and Hospitality Financial and Technology Professionals (HFTP®), George Glazer was honored with the 2008 Paragon Award this week during HFTP's 2008 Annual Convention & Tradeshow.

He received the award during the opening session on September 25 at the Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center in Nashville, Tenn. 

Glazer has dedicated over 20 years to developing training materials and industry texts in the hospitality industry. As the senior vice president of the American Hotel & Lodging Education Institute (EI), he leads efforts in the company's product development, academic publications and fulfillment areas. 

“Glazer has made countless contributions to the hospitality industry, as well as, helped HFTP lay the cornerstone for our certification programs, industry texts and educational conferences,” said Wendy Zurstadt, CPA, CHAE, CHTP, CFO of the Polo Club of Boca Raton, former HFTP global president and 2005 Paragon Award recipient.

He helped revamp the CHAE program by working to develop core competencies certified individuals in hospitality accounting should exhibit. He also spent countless hours working out details to create the CHTP. His efforts allowed the program to launch months, if not years, earlier than it was destined to. 

Glazer has worked extensively on other HFTP projects like the uniform systems of accounts for the lodging industry (USALI), accounting for club operations, the uniform system of financial reporting for clubs and more. Not only has he helped to boost HFTP’s brand, Glazer has facilitated collaborative efforts between HFTP and other organizations like CMAA and ISPA. This has allowed HFTP to broaden its scope of influence.

“He sees a need for products and services that will advance the professionalism of the hospitality industry, and he takes the steps to bring together the people and organizations that can turn those ideas into reality,” said Roy Kennington, CHA, president and COO of EI. “His strength lies in facilitating the collaboration of associations and academic experts and providing a conduit through which significant product development can flow.”

In 1999, HFTP established the annual, prestigious Paragon Award to recognize individuals who have made a significant and lasting contribution to both HFTP and the hospitality industry. Paragon Award nominees can be HFTP members; representatives of industry-related associations, societies or trade publications; or leaders from hospitality businesses, educational institutions and other related disciplines. The recipient is selected by a panel of hospitality industry experts.

Previous Paragon Award winners include Alice Banks, CHAE (1999); Henry "Buddy" Weeks, CHAE (1999); Frank Santos, CHAE, CHA (2000); Katherine Cavanagh, CHAE (2001); Raymond Schmidgall, PH.D., CPA, CHAE (2002); Frank Wolfe, CAE (2002); Len Bartello, CPA, CHAE, CHTP (2003); John J. Cahill, CHA, CHTP (2004); Wendy Zurstadt, CPA, CHAE, CHTP (2005); Richard Braa, CHAE (2006); and Robert Patasnick, CPA (2007). 

Related Articles
want to read more articles like this?

want to read more articles like this?

Sign up to receive our twice-a-month Watercooler and Siegel Sez Newsletters and never miss another article or news story.