⚠ We would appreciate if you would disable your ad blocker when visiting our site! ⚠

Jonathan Tisch and Florence Quinn to Receive HSMAI Lifetime Achievement Awards

  • 12.22.08
The Hospitality Sales and Marketing Association International (HSMAI) has announced the recipients of the annual Albert E. Koehl Award for advertising and marketing and the Winthrop W. Grice Award for public relations excellence.

The recipients will be honored at HSMAI’s annual Adrian Awards Gala on Jan. 26, 2009, at the New York Marriott Marquis. The HSMAI Adrian Awards honor creative brilliance and best practices in hospitality, travel and tourism-related marketing. In its 52nd year, the competition has evolved into one of the world's most renowned and prestigious advertising, public relations and Web marketing competitions specifically tailored for the hospitality, travel and tourism industries.

Jonathan M. Tisch, chairman and CEO of Loews Hotels, Office of the President, Loews Corporation, co-chairman of the board, Loews Corporation, will be recognized as the Albert E. Koehl Award recipient, and Florence Quinn, president and founder of Quinn & Co., will be honored with the Winthrop W. Grice Award.

“It is an honor to be able to present Jonathan M. Tisch and Florence Quinn with these distinctions,” said Robert A. Gilbert, CHME, CHA, president and CEO of HSMAI. “The hospitality industry is filled with talented individuals and these two awards are one way for HSMAI to recognize those who are advancing and encouraging innovation within their professions.”

Jonathan Tisch elevated Loews Hotels into a leading luxury hotel chain by infusing the properties with a widely praised corporate culture that places a high value on partnerships.

In 2003, Jonathan was appointed to the U.S. Department of Commerce U.S. Travel and Tourism Advisory Board. He is author of a national bestseller, “The Power of We: Succeeding Through Partnerships” and a 2007 Quill Award - Best Business Book winner, “Chocolates on the Pillow Aren’t Enough: Reinventing the Customer Experience.” The Executive Council of New York named Jonathan CEO of the Year in 2006.

Additional accolades include, Hotel Person of the Year by Travel Agent magazine, 25 Most Influential People in the Meetings Industry by Meeting News magazine, chairman of NYC & Company, the city’s official tourism marketing agency and local convention and visitors’ bureau, for six years. He also held the position of treasurer for the 2007 Super Bowl Champion New York Giants.

Tisch is a graduate of Tufts University, and currently serves on the Board of Trustees for Tufts University.

The Albert E. Koehl award was established in 1975 to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to advertising and marketing in the hospitality industry.  A lifetime achievement award, it was named in honor of Albert E. Koehl, a pioneer in hotel advertising.  Past recipients include:  Ian Schrager, Barbara Talbott, Barry S. Sternlicht, Vincent Vanderpool-Wallace, Horst H. Schulze, John J. Russell, CHME, Michael A. Leven, CHME, Richard Branson, Michael D. Eisner and Gordon “Butch” Stewart.

Florence Quinn, president and founder of Quinn & Co., serves as the strategic and creative director for the company. Under Florence’s leadership, Quinn & Co. has won 78 HSMAI Adrian Awards for PR excellence, including two coveted Best in Show Awards and five prestigious Platinum Awards.

The firm’s innovative initiatives, which include many firsts, are recognized in the industry. Procreation Vacation, Nesting Habits of Business Travelers, Martini on the Rock, the first frequent-flier program for pets, Suddenly Single and Chief Beer Officer are just a few.

Most recently, Florence was named the 2007 Public Relations Mann of the Year at the Mann Awards. In 2006 she was recognized as one of the Top 25 Most Extraordinary Minds in Hospitality & Travel Sales & Marketing by HSMAI.

Florence leads a team of 40 highly talented staff in a culture of teamwork, innovation and accessibility, setting high standards for results and achieving client objectives.

Numerous companies seek Florence’s guidance in the public relations arena. She has addressed companies, associations and organizations on the power of creative PR.  Florence has been quoted in USA Today, Entrepreneur, Redbook, American Way, PR Week, Hotel Interactive and HSMAI Marketing Review, to name a few.

Florence received a B.A. in American Studies from Smith College and a Merit Scholarship to the Arts Student’s League of New York.

The Winthrop W. Grice Award was established in 1989 to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to public relations in the hospitality industry.  It was named in honor of Winthrop W. “Bud” Grice, CHME, a long-time senior marketing executive with Marriott, who was the award’s first designate.  Other winners include:  Laura Davidson, Yvonne Middleton, Peggy R. Bendel, René A. Mack, Lou Hammond, Bunny Grossinger, Herbert D. Kelleher, Steve Wynn, Alan Fredericks and Donald J. Trump.

Related Articles
want to read more articles like this?

want to read more articles like this?

Sign up to receive our twice-a-month Watercooler and Siegel Sez Newsletters and never miss another article or news story.