AH&LA Honors Members with State Leadership Awards

  • AH&LA
  • 03.18.09
The American Hotel & Lodging Association (AH&LA) announced the winners of the 2009 State Leadership Awards yesterday during the first day of the association’s annual Legislative Action Summit (LAS).

These awards, formerly known as the Most Valuable Volunteer Awards, were created in 1998 to honor standout volunteers who help implement and strengthen programs spearheaded by both AH&LA and its partner state associations.

“It’s with much pride that we honor these individuals who’ve dedicated countless hours to improving both the local and national hospitality communities,” said AH&LA President/CEO Joseph A. McInerney, CHA.  “Their drive and leadership strengthen the power and impact of our associations and make the industry better for both our employees and our guests.”

The awards were presented to the following:

  • Arizona Hotel & Lodging Association: Greg Bryan, general manager, Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn – Grand Canyon, Ariz.
  • Arkansas Hospitality Association: Jed Bullock, owner, Best Western Eureka Inn – Eureka Springs, Ark.
  • California Hotel & Lodging Association: Jim Beazley, owner, The Beazley House – Napa Valley, Calif.
  • Colorado Hotel & Lodging Association: Navin Dimond, CEO, Stonebridge Companies – Englewood, Colo.
  • Georgia Hotel & Lodging Association: John Weit, area general manager, Marriott Atlanta Airport – College Park, Ga.
  • Illinois Hotel & Lodging Association: Robert Habeeb, president, First Hospitality Group – Rosemont, Ill.
  • Iowa Lodging Association: Rick Funke, general manager, Sheraton West Des Moines – Clive, Iowa
  • Maryland Hotel & Lodging Association: Patrick Leary, general manager, Fairfield Inn/Hospitality Partners – Bethesda, Md.
  • Montana Innkeepers Association: Sandra Johnson-Thares, CHA, general manager/co-owner, O’Haire Motor Inn – Great Falls, Mont.
  • New York State Hospitality & Tourism Association: John C. Tsunis, chairman/CEO, Long Island Hotels LLC – Hauppauge, N.Y.
  • North Carolina Restaurant & Lodging Association: Sterling Webster, partner and general manager, Hilton Garden Inn – Kitty Hawk, N.C. 
  • Oklahoma Hotel & Lodging Association: John Williams, general manager, Skirvin Hilton Hotel – Oklahoma City, Okla.
  • Oregon Lodging Association: Jim Kinney, general manager, Seventh Mountain Resort – Bend, Ore.
  • Pennsylvania Tourism and Lodging Association: William D. Kohl, CHA, CFBE, president, Harrisburg Hotel Corporation – Harrisburg, Pa.
  • Rhode Island Hospitality & Tourism Association: Mark Gervais, general manager, The Hotel Viking – Newport, R.I.
  • Tennessee Hospitality Association: Dee Lundy, owner, Lundy and Associates – Knoxville, Tenn. 
  • Virginia Hospitality & Travel Association: Chris Canavos, CHA, owner, Country Inn & Suites – Williamsburg, Va. 
  • Wisconsin Innkeepers Association: Mark Johnson, vice president and general manager, Best Western Milwaukee Airport Hotel & Conference Center – Milwaukee, Wis.
  • Wyoming Lodging & Restaurant Association: Ken Patel, owner, Comfort Inn Laramie – Laramie, Wyo.

Award recipients are determined by AH&LA’s partner state associations. 

Related Articles
want to read more articles like this?

want to read more articles like this?

Sign up to receive our twice-a-month Watercooler and Siegel Sez Newsletters and never miss another article or news story.