Arthur J. Packard Memorial Scholarship Awarded to Three Students

  • AH&LA
  • 08.19.10
The American Hotel & Lodging Educational Foundation (AH&LEF), the not-for-profit affiliate of the American Hotel & Lodging Association, awarded three scholarships via its Arthur J. Packard Memorial Scholarship Program, the Foundation’s most prominent and oldest scholarship award.

Sagine Delly, a senior at Florida International University, is first-place winner and receives $5,000.  Alexander Schaeffer, a senior at Missouri State University, receives $3,000 as second-place winner.  Third place goes to Jacquelyn Goodman, a senior at Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte.  In addition, the recipients receive commemorative plaques.

The Arthur J. Packard Memorial Scholarship Program, which began in 1974 to honor to honor third-generation hotelier Packard’s numerous accomplishments in the lodging industry, awards three students at AH&LEF-affiliated four-year educational institutions a total of $10,000.  Each school nominates their top students to compete.  In 2010, AH&LEF will award 292 scholarships to hospitality management students totaling more than $400,000.

“This year’s competition was a tough one as many students exemplified excellence in all categories. Our scholarships are ensuring the hospitality industry will one day employ some of the brightest and most noteworthy future leaders,” said Joori Jeon, CPA, CAE, AH&LEF president/COO.

Related Articles
want to read more articles like this?

want to read more articles like this?

Sign up to receive our twice-a-month Watercooler and Siegel Sez Newsletters and never miss another article or news story.