Steve Doherty, CHAE, CHTP to Posthumously Receive the HFTP Paragon Award

  • Hospitality Financial and Technology Professionals (HFTP)
  • 08.30.10
For his dedication to Hospitality Financial and Technology Professionals (HFTP®) and his tireless work educating its members, Steve Doherty, CHAE, CHTP will be awarded posthumously the 2010 Paragon Award.

The prestigious Paragon Award recognizes individuals who have made a significant and lasting contribution to both HFTP and the hospitality industry. Doherty will be honored at HFTP's 2010 Annual Convention & Tradeshow held October 11-14 at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront in San Diego, Calif.

For 14 years, Steve was an active and well-respected member of HFTP up until he lost his battle with colon cancer in March 2010. He contributed many years of service to HFTP on every level of the association and was a member of Florida Gold Coast, South Florida, Mid-Florida, Greater New Orleans, New York and Valley of the Sun chapters. He helped revive the South Florida chapter and served as chapter treasurer, vice president and two-time president. On the global level, Doherty was active on the Paragon Selection Committee and Leadership Academy (now the Leadership Summit).

“Steven's contributions to HFTP and to the hospitality industry extend beyond his speaking engagements. When someone asked for his assistance, Steve was one who could never say ‘it can't be done.' His qualities are what many of us hope to garner in order to become a knowledgeable and respected leader,” said Robert Oprea, CHAE, CHTP, controller at Le Pavillon Hotel. “Without reservation, I believe that no one better represents HFTP and the principles of the Paragon Award than Steve Doherty.”

As senior client relations manager at POST Integrations, Inc., he championed for finance education by speaking about PCI compliance, the Cardholder Information Security Program (CISP), fraud, cost saving and credit card processing at HITEC, the HFTP Annual Convention & Tradeshow and numerous chapter meetings.

“Steve was a wonderful person and a dear friend to all of us at POST Integrations. He was extremely dedicated to the hotel industry and looked forward to each HFTP convention and the networking, teaching and educational opportunities that came along with them,” said Mary Gerdts, CEO and president of POST Integrations. “Steve's enthusiasm for helping educate others in the hotel industry was contagious. Many of Steve's closest friends came from his years of dedication to the hotel industry. Most importantly, Steve was a dedicated father and a consummate gentleman who will be missed by all.”

HFTP established the annual Paragon Award in 1999. Paragon Award nominees can be HFTP members; representatives of industry-related associations, societies or trade publications; or leaders from hospitality businesses, educational institutions and other related disciplines. The recipient is selected by a panel of hospitality industry experts.

Previous Paragon Award winners include Alice Banks, CHAE (1999); Henry "Buddy" Weeks, CHAE (1999); Frank Santos, CHAE, CHA (2000); Katherine Cavanagh, CHAE (2001); Raymond Schmidgall, PH.D., CPA, CHAE (2002); Frank Wolfe, CAE (2002); Len Bartello, CPA, CHAE, CHTP (2003); John J. Cahill, CHA, CHTP (2004); Wendy Zurstadt, CPA, CHAE, CHTP (2005); Richard Braa, CHAE (2006); Robert Patasnick, CPA (2007); George Glazer (2008); Agnes DeFranco, Ed.D., CHAE (2009); and Stephen LeBruto, CPA, CHAE, Ed.D. (2009).

Related Articles
want to read more articles like this?

want to read more articles like this?

Sign up to receive our twice-a-month Watercooler and Siegel Sez Newsletters and never miss another article or news story.