AH&LA Honors Allied Member, Hoteliers from Across the Country

  • AH&LA
  • 03.16.11
The American Hotel & Lodging Association (AH&LA) announced the winners of the John Whitaker Award and the State Leadership Awards during the first day of the association’s annual Legislative Action Summit (LAS).

David Goldstone, CMHS, vice president of sales & hotel relations, LodgeNet Interactive Corporation, received the 2011 John Whitaker Award, which is presented to an outstanding hotel supplier for their dedication to and innovation within the industry.  The AH&LA Allied Executive Council selects the award recipient, which is named for a long-time hospitality veteran who served as international sales manager for SICO America, Inc., until his death in 2007.  A 17-year hospitality industry veteran, Goldstone was previously with Panasonic Hospitality and Australian manufacturer Tango Products USA.  He has served on the AH&LEF Golf Classic Committee since 1998, and was named a member of the AH&LA Centennial Committee in 2009.

The State Leadership Awards, formerly known as the Most Valuable Volunteer Awards, were created in 1998 to honor standout members in each partner state association who help implement and strengthen programs. Award recipients, who are chosen by AH&LA’s partner state associations, included the following:

Yvette Hebard - general manager, Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge, Fairbanks, Alaska

Brian Johnson - managing director, Loews Ventana Canyon Resorts, Tucson, Ariz.

Linda Collins-Smith - owner, Days Inn & Suites Pocahontas, Pocahontas, Ark.

René Boskoff - general manager, Monterey Marriott Hotel, Monterey, Calif.

Dan Pirrallo - general manager, Millennium Harvest House, Boulder, Colo.

Keith Overton - president, Tradewinds Island Resorts, St. Petersburg, Fla.

Charlotte Kang - vice president, Colliers PKF Consulting USA, Atlanta, Ga.

Ernest Nishizaki - president, Kyo-ya Management Company, Ltd., Waikiki, Hawaii

Jim Gould - vice president, Portfolio Hotels & Resorts, Schaumburg, Ill.

Michael Conner - general manager, Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Northwest, Indianapolis, Ind.

Katie Doherty - general manager, Hampton Inn & Suites, National Harbor, Oxon Hill, Md.

Michael J. Downing - vice president, auxiliary services, Johnson & Wales University, Seekonk, Mass.

Rick Winn - vice president and managing director, Amway Hotel Corporation, Grand Rapids, Mich.

Lara Lubinski - director of operations, Holiday Inn Express, Butte, Great Falls and Missoula, Mont.

Ron Morin - vice president and managing director, Grove Park Inn, Asheville, N.C.

Rebecca Eastham - director, business development, Meridian Technology Center, Stillwater, Okla.

Philip A. Guarno - general manager, Fenicci’s Ristorante, Hershey, Pa.

Robert Ayers - general manager, Residence Inn by Marriott, Warwick, R.I.

Bill Mish - general manager, Doubletree Hotel Chattanooga, Chattanooga, Tenn.

Barron Hobbs - general manager, Hilton College Station & Conference Center, College Station, Texas

Kimberly Christner - CEO, The Beck Company, Williamsburg, Va.

Robert Y. Dove, Jr. - general manager, Best Western Bridgewood Resort Hotel. Neenah, Wis.

John Eastman - owner, Inn on the Creek, Jackson, Wyo.

Related Articles
want to read more articles like this?

want to read more articles like this?

Sign up to receive our twice-a-month Watercooler and Siegel Sez Newsletters and never miss another article or news story.