2013 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients Revealed by HSMAI

  • 01.21.14
The lifetime achievement award recipients for HSMAI have been announced and will be presented at the annual Adrian Awards Gala, which celebrates excellence in travel advertising, digital marketing and public relations.

HSMAI will present two lifetime achievement awards, the Albert E. Koehl award and the Winthrop W. Grice award, during the Gala held on Feb. 24 at the New York Marriott Marquis. The Albert E. Koehl Award is given to highlight distinction in advertising and marketing and the Winthrop W. Grice award is presented to honor those in the public relations field.
This year’s recipients, David Kong and Richard S. Kahn, have each dedicated more than 40 years to the travel and hospitality industry, driving unique and noteworthy advertising, marketing and public relations initiatives.
David Kong, president and CEO of Best Western International, was chosen as the Koehl award winner for the strategic and innovative thinking he has continued to bring to his role. Under his leadership, he has led the company to its highest RevPAR index in 2012 and 2013 and helped Best Western International achieve unprecedented performance in guest loyalty and hotel satisfaction.
Richard S. Kahn, president and owner of Kahn Travel Communications (KTCpr), was chosen as the Grice award recipient due to his extensive career as a former journalist and, currently, public relations and marketing expert. His dedication to the hospitality, travel and tourism industries has paved the way for numerous colleagues during his 45-year career. 
“HSMAI is pleased to recognize David Kong and Richard Kahn for their remarkable achievements during the tenure of their careers,” said Robert A. Gilbert, CHME, CHBA, president and CEO of HSMAI. “Both leaders have accomplished a great deal while positively representing the travel and hospitality industries and deserve to be recognized for their achievements.”
The HSMAI lifetime achievement awards selection committee consists of 11 former Koehl and Grice Award recipients and selects winners based on skill, leadership qualities and demonstration of innovation, among other credentials.

Related Articles
want to read more articles like this?

want to read more articles like this?

Sign up to receive our twice-a-month Watercooler and Siegel Sez Newsletters and never miss another article or news story.